Is it possible to use a bios from a different board ?

So i’ve been looking into bios modding as i want to have nvme support on my ecs z77h2 a2x deluxe 2.0 , as seen in this post :[Discussion] NVMe BIOS Modules and NVMe Support.

The only problem is that ecs isn’t exactly a popoular brand by any means , so i was wondering if i could use one of the modded bios files made for an msi board or an asus board etc, as long as it is based on an ami bios.

@ coaxialgamer:
Welcome at Win-RAID Forum!

You can extract the desired NVMe BIOS modules from any other mainboard BIOS and insert them into the BIOS of your mainboard (hoping, that it works for your system), but you should never try to flash a BIOS, which has been designed for another mainboard.

Regards
Dieter (alias Fernando)

hello,
Thank you for the answer , how do i insert the modules into my bios ?
I’m very new to bios modding , this is litteraly the first time i looked into it.

EDIT by Fernando: Unneeded parts of the fully quoted text removed (to save space)

Since these modules are EFI modules like the Intel EFI RAID module named "SataDriver", you can do it the same way as I have written >here< within the chapter "How to insert an Intel UEFI RAID "SataDriver" module".
Good luck!

hello ,
I don’ t want to sound like an idiot , but after doing a little bit of research and reading your post , i installed mmtool and loaded a z97 bios made for an ecs z97 board.
The only problem is that there is no module named something like “nvme”( i found “nvmerecovery” on a z170 board bios , but that was it).
Can i use an nvme module from a different board and insert them into my bios ?

Best regards ,
Luc

If you don’t find an ECS mainboard BIOS, which contains the NVMe modules, you can inset modules, which were taken from a BIOS of another mainboard manufacturer. Anyway there is no guarantee, that it will work for your system.