Upgrade IME from 7 to 8 on Lenovo D30 / C602 chipset

Hi,

I’m new to this topic, but I had to read heavily the last week. I am owner of Lenovo D30 currently running with E5-2620. I recently decided to upgrade the CPU and bought two E5-2630v2 as this was listed as supported CPU in the documentation. Apparently not with every model of D30. Mine is 4223 and has IME 7.1 which doesn’t support Ivy CPUs. Is there a safe way to upgrade the firmware of IME to 8, so I can use the CPUs I recently bought ?
I was thinking to buy a programmer so I can read (and write) the BIOS, but have been away of such activities for the last 6-7 year so I have no idea either what to change in the BIOS or if I can handle it.

Any advice or guidance is appreciated.

That is only possible with HP send you a BIOS with ME8 already in there, only manufacturer can update ME major version due to many other BIOS modules also need edited/updated at the same time, it’s not something BIOS hacking people can do.
Did you verify the latest BIOS for your exact model does not already contain ME8?

It could be possible, depending on how new the D30 4223 BIOS source is but it is a lot of work and you’ll definitely need a programmer. Basically, you would need to dump your SPI image, use UEFITool to replace the BIOS region with the one given by Lenovo (to start from scratch, no NVRAM leftovers) and then start upgrading stuff for Ivy Bridge support. The ME will need manual settings transferring from ME 7 to ME 8, the BIOS would need IVB microcodes & vBIOS and who knows what else. That would be option number one and there is no guarantee that it will even work. You could also use the D30 with ME8 BIOS at the first UEFITool step in case they are basically the same just with ME 8 BIOS source support. No matter how you look at it, it is a lot of work and the outcome questionable.