Z87 Bios - Are modding these different ?

Hello Guys,

Ive been using Fernando’s guides to mod my z68 and z77 boards with the latest Intel OROM’S and the Satadrivers (I install in Win8 EFI mode) succesfully.

However i’ve just upgraded to a Z87, its an MSI GD65.
I want to upgrade the Satadriver to version v12.6.0.1867, however i cant follow the guide Intel EFI RAID “SataDriver” BIOS Modules as it appears the bios is set up differently.

If I find the line “SataDriver” in the bios it has a GUID starting “91B4D9C1” and not “90C8D394” as per the guide.

Will this make any difference ?

Im not really an expert on all this so thought i’d check here first before I made any mistake.
Heres a link to bios if interested in take a look http://download1.msi.com/files/downloads/bos_exe/7845v12.zip

@ slickric21:
Welcome at Win-RAID Forum!

Since I am far away from my home and since I don’t have a Z87 mainboard, I am not able to give you a 100% correct answer to your question.
As far as I remember the GUID of the SataDriver is layed down within the related file (should be right at the end of the code).
I recommend to open the in question SataDriver file with a hex editor and check for the GUID code.
If the GUID code should be different from what the Aptio MMTool shows while opening the Z87 BIOS, you should extract the desired SataDriver module from another Z87 chipset mainboard BIOS.

Regards
Fernando

Thanks for the reply.

Im not really sure how to follow your instructions to be honest, I am a novice.
I only know how to search for a text string in Hexeditor, and searching “GUID” brings two entries for the text GUID of course. I don’t know how to find the code.

But I already know the GUID is different don’t I, As described in my first post MMtool show me the Satadriver in my Z87 bios starts 90C8D394, not 91B4D9C1 like Z77 bios’s ?