Adapting BIOS for a different chipset

Hey guys, this is my first post in this forum. Sorry if I am posting in the wrong section.

I have an ASUS GL552 which had a bad PCH (SR17E - HM86 chipset), my replacement PCH from china was faulty (shorted) and with current pandemic I am unable to order another at a reasonable price. I had a donor board with an SR17D (HM87 Chipset) and after a some digging around I found they are not too different and have same pinout. Out of curiosity, I decided to use it as replacement for the SR17E. When power adapter is connected, laptop start on its own and if prompted to turn off with power button, it’ll boot right up.

I tried tinkering with the BIOS, but I am a complete newbie at this. My results range from no change to above mentioned boot cycle or simple no boot at all. My question is, is it possible to adapt the BIOS meant for the SR17E to work with the SR17D or is it that it just simply will not work because they are different chipset?

I would really love to learn more about BIOS modding and this forum is a wealth of information. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Well compare chipset registers for the PCH
https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/pu…h-datasheet.pdf

And don’t forget about ME, some chipset configuration registers are configured in FIT and stored in flash descriptor. I wouldn’t expect to many hassles on bios side, maybe worth to start with ‘clean/empty’ NVRAM.

Checking ME settngs is basically the same like cleaning the ME, just that you’d have to compare settings for the different configurations/ chipsets, required tools in the second link.
[Guide] Clean Dumped Intel Engine (CS)ME/(CS)TXE Regions with Data Initialization
Intel (Converged Security) Management Engine: Drivers, Firmware and Tools

Worth a try a fpt(w(64)) -greset on a administrators command prompt… I assume you did reset CMOS?

You do have a CH341 programmer?

Hi lfb6, thank you for your reply.