ASUS P5NE SLI Mobo with NVidia 650i SLI how to install SSD as a secondary drive (in dual boot)

Fernando and the forum team,

Firstly, thank you for your work on legacy NVidia products.

Second, I am not a techie and need some help.

I understand that I need AHCI to boot from SSD? Is that correct?
I have purchased a Sandisk Ultra II SSD.

I do not have a choice to change to AHCI in BIOS (I have the latest version of the BIOS for the mobo 1406)

In Device Manager I do not see any Chipsets and therefore do not know how to update.

My system is running Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit on a WD Green HDD. Before I upgrade to Windows 10 I would like to migrate over to SSD and boot from it.

Please let me know what other information you require to assist me.
Has anyone had the same problem and resolved it. There is a suggestion that I buy SATA3 controller card and use the spare PCIE x16 port I have.

Thank you for your assistance.

meh8a

@meh8a :
Welcome at Win-RAID Forum!

No, you can boot off an SSD, which is running in IDE or RAID mode as well.

Your nForce 650i (MCP55) chipset mainboard doesn’t support AHCI at all.

You can find the various nForce chipset devices within different sections of the Device Manager:
1. The "NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller" will be listed within the "IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers" section, but may have another name (example: "Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller").
2. Within the "Network adapters" section you will find the "NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller".
3. The nForce HDAudio Controller (original name: "NVIDIA High Definition Audio") should be listed within the "Sound, Video and Game Controllers" section.
4. Other NVIDIA nForce chipset devices (SMBus, SMU etc.) should be found within the "System Devices" section of the Devce Manager.

Why do you want to clutter your brandnew SSD with a lot of garbage?
This is what I recommend to do:
1. Upgrade your Win7 x64 Ultimate to Win10 x64 Pro by using your currently used HDD.