ASUS XG-C100C 10GbE device and vendor ID

Cheers guys!

I’m pretty new to the topic of eeprom manipulation and want to change the vendor and device id of my ASUS XG-C100C 10GbE ethernet controller with the Aquantia AQC107 chip. Goal is to use it on a classic Mac Pro 5.1. I know, there is way to install a certain combo update, but i’d rather use this approach.
Anyway: I bought the black CH341A spi programmer and tried to read the eeprom via flashrom. Unfortunatly, I get this message:

Found Generic flash chip "unknown SPI chip (RDID)" (0 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.
This flash part has status NOT WORKING for operations: PROBE READ ERASE WRITE

Google tells me to reduce the spispeed, but ch341a_spi does not support a change in speed.
Some people say the black ch341a programmer is dangerous because of its 5v voltage. I could mod the programmer, but will change anything? The card is still working, so the eeprom is not fried...

How do I proceed?

Thanks a lot,
Cit

EDIT: The chip is a MXIC 25L3233F

@Citroen - Black/Gold CH341A does not put out 5V to chip, so you are fine, mod would only change internal used voltage. Some systems need the power cable removed, some need it plugged in, same with main battery.
You may need to try 10+ times with clip too before you get it on there perfectly. Here is a guide with lots of images, to be sure you have it all correctly setup (make sure jumper is in correct position too) - [GUIDE] Flash BIOS with CH341A programmer

For MX25L3233F - Try software 1.34 from this package - http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fil…213094641136166
Also, make dump with included ASProgrammer 1.41, then compare all three in hex or send to me to compare.

Hey @Lost_N_BIOS !

Thank you for your support. I managed to read the data from the eeprom.
EDIT: I just noted: all my bins differ. Seems my connection is bad. Will look into it :slight_smile: