Dell Optiplex 7040 ME Firmware Flash copied Serial number and MAC Address

Hello all!

Upfront, I am fairly new to firmware editing and modding, so if I have missed something obvious please don’t hesitate to let me know.

I have a Dell Optiplex 7040 whose Intel Management Engine has completely disappeared. I had not encountered anything like this before as the device was brought in for normal maintenance but kept throwing the error "Error sending End Of Post message to ME: HECI disabled, proceeding with boot!"

I downgraded the firmware to 1.2.8 and upgraded it again 1.18.1, but received an error stating that the "ME Firmware Update Failed: Image Loading."

Some Googling later lead me here to a fellow (user - dubioza, post - Dell Optiplex 7040 bios update: ME Firmware Update Faild: Image loading and HECI disable) who had a similar issue with the exception that HWInfo and Windows Device Manager could not find an Intel ME option at all.

Per the suggestion of plutomaniac, I followed the Guide to Clean Dumped Intel Engine and it worked! I dumped the SPI/BIOS information from a working machine of the same make and model, followed the guide to clean the file, rebuilt it, and flashed it into my broken machine.

However, I must have missed a step as the serial number, asset tag, and integrated NIC’s MAC Address have all followed over from the working machine. I went back to the Flash Image Tool and did not find an obvious field to edit that information back into the device.

Is there a way to fix these fields from the Decompiled bin files? I primarily need to fix the MAC address so both devices can exist on my network. Any help is appreciated! Thank you!