EFI-module compression

Hi,

i’m searching a tool which can compress efi-modules in windows.
I found a tool for extracting and decompressing uefi, but no tool for compressing. Only sourcecode in c++, but its useless for me, because i’m no programmer…

What exactly do you mean by EFI modules, what are you trying to compress? And what compression: EFI, Tiano, LZMA? There are some tools in EDK2 like LZMACompress and TianoCompress, but it is hard to say how appropriate they are for your case when you haven’t explained your case.

It is EFI-Part from GPU. I have no idea which type of compression was used, i can only test it. The tools from EDK (LZMA and Tiano) don’t work, the files differ from the compressed files (compressed original -> decompressed -> compressed).

If it is about GOP (EFI ROM from GPU firmware), you should firstly read this thread. Secondly, for GOP compression you must use Efirom from EDK2, but there is a warning about its use, present in the linked thread. And yes, with newer versions the compression algorithm is better and there will be a difference. But I remember an older version had the same compression as the one from GPU vendors, as you can see in the third picture of that thread.

If you really need that version that has the same compression, I will check to see if I still have it.

EFIRom.exe doesn’t compress it the right way.

I attached two files, the compressed and uncompressed one. Uncompressing was done with UEFIRomExtract.exe; the uncompressed header of the efi-file (160 bytes) is removed. You must rename them to .rom/.bin/whatever because of restricted endings.

compressed.rar (41.4 KB)

uncompressed.rar (109 KB)

But what is the file you are trying to compress? Is it uncompressed.rar/rom, are you trying to obtain the exact compression as in compressed.rar/rom? By the way: from where is this file, because I see it is not a generic AMD GOP; can you share the whole file; do you know it is compiled as byte code and not x86/x64?