having problem with modding foxconn g41mxe

Hi everyone this is my first forum post i may have some wrongs on my english first i sorry about that into to subject

I searched everywhere on the internet about modding foxconn g41mxe bios (American megatrends) to be compatible with Xeon x5460 c0 SLNAP cpu (mainly because of heat problem i’m having) i already did the physical part but i couldn’t manage to mod it for heat problem im totally new in this modding things and if someone could give me an proper explanation for total rookie like me i would be really happy

if i wrote post wrong i’m sorry

Hey! Sorry, I don’t quite understand “Heat problem” is this maybe translation issue? Do you mean heat problem, meaning temperature (Celsius or Fahrenheit)? Or do you mean another word and it’s not being translated properly?

Do you need BIOS mod, for Xeon CPU microcodes? Maybe you do need that, and only mentioned “Heat Problem” because your other CPU (Not the Xeon) runs hot, so you want to use Xeon for better lower temperature?

Here is mod BIOS, with updated Xeon microcodes (And all microcodes updated for you!)

UpdatedMicrocodes.png

https://www.sendspace.com/file/vgufj0

You problem is quite obvious in its cause! The Xeon 5460 has an FSB of 1333Mhz and a TDP of 120W , with FSB you are ok, TDP is where the problem starts. Foxconn G41MXE has FSB of 1333Mhz but a TDP of 95W !! So there are your "heating problems" begin. There is no BIOS mod that will increase motherboard TDP threshold, it is a "physical-mechanical" (for lack of a better term) value. x5460 was a "bad" choice of CPU for you particular board.

The best Xeon for your mainboard (I have the same) is Xeon E5450 3.00 GHz with FSB 1333 and TDP 80W E0 (SLBBM) works like a charm even better than Q9650.
Every time you mod like this you must pay EXTRA attention to FSB and TDP values of MB and CPU to match.

Cheers~!