How to create an SSD RAID0 with TRIM support using an Intel 6-Series Chipset

as the title says, im new, so hello everyone my name is Gordon I am from the USA :slight_smile:

not sure if this is where i needed to post, i looked for an intro section but couldnt find one. Anyway, I have been a avid PC builder/modder/gamer/overclocker for quite a few years now. Got my College Degree in Physics, but I found this forum because I was hunting for a way to get my OS onto a SSD raid 0 array without loosing trim functionality. So thats where I will be going with my next post haha thanks guys! looking forward to hearing back from someone

-Gordon

@ gordonie:
Hello Gordon,
welcome at Win-RAID Forum!

It is very easy for you to get what you want:

1. Download the latest BIOS for your mainboard from the ASUS Support page and unzip the pure BIOS module.
  2. Run the UBU tool (look >here<) and let it update the Intel RAID ROM module, which is within the BIOS, to the TRIM in RAID0 modded Intel RAID ROM v12.9.0.2006.
  3. Flash the modded BIOS into the BIOS chip of your mainboard by using the EZ Flash tool from within the BIOS.
  4. Insert and connect the 2 SSDs, which are designed to be members of the RAID0 array, to the 2 first Intel SATA3 ports and disconnect all other HDDs/SSDs.
  5. Enter the BIOS and set the Intel SATA Controller to “RAID”.
  6. After having saved the BIOS setting, hit CRTL+I while rebooting. Now you will get access to the Intel Rapid Storage Technology RAID Utility v12.9.0.2006.
  7. Create the RAID0.
  8. Boot off the media (DVD or USB Flash Drive), which contains the Windows OS you want to get installed.
  9. Let the OS Setup create a system partition with an appropriate size (50-200 GB, depending on the complete size of your RAID0 array).
  10. Install the OS onto the just created RAID0 system partition.
  11. Once everything is up and working fine,you can (re-)connect your other drives.

Good luck!
Dieter (alias Fernando)