HP Insyde Bios Update Microcode

Hello,

I’m trying to get the microcode updated for a HP Notebook. I’ve already extracted the Manufacturer Bios and investigated that the Bios is RSA signed. I’m not sure about that and I’m not sure about what does this mean for my plan to update the microcode.

So my question is, if there is a way to update the microcode or not.

If I load the Bios with InsydeH2OEZE Tool I’m able to delete/replace the old microcode and insert the new microcode. I cannot just add it because of the size.

Now I’m in fear about flashing this Bios. Because I have no experience with this Insyde Bios Tool and I’m unsure what this RSA signed exactly mean. Some people in the WWW write it does not matter. Some people say in worst case u have just to reflash the old one and some write that the notebook will be dead.

I have attached the Bios files if someone is kind, all knowing :wink: want look into it and able to give me an advise.
hp_insyde_bios.zip

Kind regards,
pwned

P. S. I’ve read something about to dump the Bios, modify it and then rewrite it. But I guess I would need Hardware for this?

I have update my microcode with an hex editor ,the computer is twh , hm65 chipset.

I download your pack ,you shure cpu40651_plat72_ver00000023_2018-01-18_PRD_0A6E6647 is microcode? i don’t think so!

Hello virginlulu,

well 1st of all, thx for dropping by.

I’m sure I could achive this with a hexeditor too, but therefore I would have to investigate more then the start address of the microcode header. I would assume that there is more then one microcode integrated. And I would expect a checksum after the microcode block. And maybe there is a checksum over all blocks at the end of the file. I have noone to discuss this issues. So I would have to do “try and error”. I don’t want to do this on a notebook. Esp. I have no clue about the hardware inside and the hardware I would need to program the chip in case of fail. That’s why I’m here.