HP Zbook 15 Shuts Down after 30 Minutes

Hi Everyone,

First of all, I’m a little new to the topic of Intel ME, so I hope you can bear with me.

I have a HP Zbook 15 Base Model (1st generation). After a windows update, it started shutting down on its own, even when left in BIOS. It shuts down after 30 minutes exactly, and that led me to the various threads here in win-raid about Intel ME. My Zbook exhibit the common symptoms, including Intel ME not showing in device manager, and Platform not supported error when running the Softpaq driver installer for Intel ME. I believe my Intel ME is corrupted.

I went through the Guide-Unlock-Intel-Flash-Descriptor-Read-Write-Access-Permissions-for-SPI-Servicing. What I got was that I need to (1) unlock read/write access to my SPI and then (2) load the correct firmware of the Intel ME.

I didn’t know what my Intel ME version was, and the MEInfo did not run successfully. But fortunately, I had this second Zbook that was purchased at the same time, hence, I took the MEinfo and ran it there instead. It showed my ME firmware version as 9.0.22.1467. So I went to the Intel ME Tools thread and downloaded the firmware files. I saw that there are 1.5MB and 5MB files. Not sure which to use.