HP ZBook - Intel AMT setting (MPM locked)

Hey there,

I do have a problem regarding my HP ZBook 15. I have replaced the motherboard with a new one, set all the information (S/N, SKU, CT Board…) using DMIfit and then locked MPM. As it seems I should have set the AMT/V-Pro setting before locking MPM. Therefor my machine is now in commited state.
Does anybody know how to get it unlocked again OR set AMT directly in the ME region? I’ve read something about “VSS store” modification to unlock it but I have no idea which sections to manipulate.

I’ve uploaded a screen of UEFItool / ME Analyzer and my bios dump. Maybe someone could guide me to the light :slight_smile:

Thank you!

https://mega.nz/#!Nkt1hQCQ!XPM7bvfjAEpta…0804qwYTkdFGUP8

PS: Im a newb to this flashing stuff but willing to learn so please be patient.

Redo DMIFit with your SMC.BIN, or is that not possible now? You can unlock AMT in ME, but how you locked it may have removed that from BIOS options, additionally you will not be able to easily write to the ME region of the BIOS anyway without a pinmod or flash programmer.
Do you have flash programmer? If not, try and see if you can redo DMIFit again

Hey Lost_N_Bios,

thanks for your help (again) :slight_smile:

Yes I do have a CH341A and extracted the bios of the the chip (see attached mega download). I dont have a SMC.bin.
I could flash the chip with a different bios dump but would lose all S/N, SKU, CT, MAC address… I would like to preserve these settings.

Thanks

If you do not have SMC.bin how did you use DMIFit to close it out previously? Contact HP and give them your UUID and serial, tell them you replaced the board and need SMC.Bin
Additionally tell them you ran DMIFit once and accidentally locked MPM before setting how you wanted, in case they need to give you something else as well.