Possible to update ME7 to ME8 on HM67?

Hello,

Is it at all possible to update from ME 7.1.10.1065 to ME 8.x? I would like to run an Ivey Bridge CPU with the HM67. Difficulty aside, is this 100% impossible or no? My BIOS is unlocked and has a "Me Fw RE-FLASH: enable/disable" (or something to that effect) option available if that makes a difference.

Also, is there a 64bit ME7 info tool available? I can only find a 32bit version.

Thanks!

@ Plastixx:
Welcome at Win-RAID Forum!

Since I am not an expert regarding the Intel Management Engine, i hope, that you will get answers to your questions from somebody else.

Regards
Fernando

Mobile 6-series chipsets are not compatible with MEv8 and Ivy Bridge CPUs.

I know that is the “official” info from Intel, but I do not believe it 100%. Ivy works with H67 just fine, so why not HM67?

I think it’s more a business reason than an actual compatibility reason. I’ve read of someone receiving nasty emails from Intel for posting info on getting Ivy to work with overclocking on a desktop board with ME7.

We have tried it here and MEv8 simply doesn’t start on HM67.

I respect your efforts, but are you sure it was due to HM67 definite incompatibly or possibly something else?

I’m working with a HP laptop with Insyde BIOS (unlocked). I’m really a complete noob with all of this, but just messing around today this is what I did…

My original BIOS = ME 7.1.10.1065
Doner BIOS (slightly newer same model laptop with HM76) = ME 8.0.4.1441

I’ve extracted the ME region from my BIOS and loaded it up in FITC 7.x. I then opened up the doner BIOS in FITC 8.x and changed everything in the ME region to match that of my BIOS. Some things are extra or missing since ME8 is a little different. I then built the ME8 firmware using the Intel series 6 HM67 settings. FITC output a ME region file I can now paste back into the original BIOS file.