[Problem] Experimental Dell Wyse 5070 BIOS doesnt Boot

Hi,

I’ve been experimenting with a couple of Dell Wyse 5070 computers I have spare (part payment for an old job I did some time back).

Having bought a EPZ2019 USB programmer over lockdown, I decided to try some of the basics out with the device - I’m a computer tech by trade but don’t have much experience with the IC side of things.

I stripped down one of the 5070’s and found that the BIOS chip to be a Winbond 25Q128FWSQ-1831. After searching google I found this chip to be of 1.8V, so I’ve used the supplied 1.8 adapter found in my EPZ2019 kit. I’ve also used the cable clip as well, to avoid de-soldering the chip.

The mains power adapter had been removed from the computer, as well as the CMOS battery - the device was fully discharged of power before work commenced.

After starting up the EPZ2019+ Programmer App, I selected the Winbond ‘W25Q128FW(1.8V)’ from the list of available chips, selected size 16MB, Pagesize 256 and speed 12MHz (I’ve tried this whole process at 6MHz and made no difference, 3MHz doesn’t work at all).

I successfully read the contents of my chip and saved it to a .bin file. After checking the file in HxD, I found information related to the computer (Dell SN etc).
I followed this with erasing the chip of its data - this was successful, after which I re-read the chips data showing blank information.

At this point, I opened the previously saved .bin file and wrote the file back to the BIOS chip - this completed successfully. I then verified the contents, which also completed successfully.

I then rebuilt the machine and powered it back on. Surprisingly the computer did not boot. A meaningless series of lights flashed on the front of the computer but nothing else.
After wondering what had gone wrong, I re-stripped the machine down, removing all power sources and BIOS batteries as well as draining any static.