[Request] Bricked Alienware x51 R1 Bios

Hi there.

I’m wondering if any of you may be able to help me. I purchased a 2nd hand Alienware x51 R1 desktop PC today and I was recommended to update the bios to put a better GPU in. I went from A07 and tried to do A14 however it froze and then bricked my bios. (Stupidly I thought the .exe was going to compile on to a usb, not actually run the update inside of windows)

Just spent £300 on the machine the hour earlier and was feeling pretty stupid, especially when I couldn’t find any replacement board. Then I stumbled across bios reflashing…

I’m completely new to all this and really don’t know where to start. I have ordered a ch341a programmer

I would really really appreciate some help here in what I need to do to get my system operational again.

Please help me if possible. My wife’s going nuts at me for buying a gaming machine and then bricking it an hour later… I feel really stupid allowing the bios to update Inside of windows… Can’t believe I did that

1 Like

@M3TAL
Full dump for you notebook, for CH341A.
You can try this method
USB stick
- FAT32
- rename Alienware_X51_A14.exe BIOS_IMG.rcv
- power on
- Ctrl + Esc
- Wait
You can flash this modded bios
-updata GOP;
-updata microcodes;
-added driver NvmE NvmExpressDxe_5.ffs.

Alienware_X51_A14.zip (3.01 MB)

Alienware_X51_A14_mod.zip (3 MB)

1 Like

1APTC0.rom

@imurphy, I understand correctly?
rename Alienware_X51_A14.bin 1APTC0.rom
and put to USB stick?

Thanks for the reply and working on the files for me. I appreciate it very much.

I don’t have the programmer here yet. Are you saying I can put direct on usb and attempt a recovery blind flash so to speak?

My computer is an Alienware x51 R1 desktop. I don’t think they implemented recovery until revision 3

I’ve got nothing to loose though so will have a go right now.

Thanks @Michael_Code

Yes.

ok so i downloaded the a14.bin and I’ve renamed it to 1APTC0.rom

i’ve formated a USB fat32 and put the file on root of USB