Slow RAID1, proprietary BIOS

Hello, newbie here… I am looking for help with some terrible read performance that I’m getting from iRST in RAID1. The PC is a Lenovo M92p which is Q77 based, running Win 8. I replaced the factory drive with a pair of mechanical drives (WD Black 2.5", 4K sector). They measure 97 MB/s singly (sequential) via Crystal, but only 68 MB/s when put into an iRST mirror. 512K read test is even worse, and random access time jumps from 8ms to 16ms using Sandra. It does surpass the single drive in one test (4K reads with queue depth = 32), so I assume there is some spreading of reads happening. The OROM is showing v11.0.0.1124 and it is a UEFI bios “Lenovo BIOS Setup Utility” with a version dated 06/07/2013. The numbers above were from testing after updating the Windows driver to v12.5.1066. Should I expect better performance out of iRST? And if so, is there any way to achieve it using a branded BIOS stuck at that version?

Or do your experiences match those in this Intel forum thread from last year, even with the current drivers?

@ tonyp:
Welcome at Win-RAID Forum!

Since I don’t have much experience with RAID1 systems, I am probably not able to help you. Hopefully someone else will do it.
If you want the best performance, you have to create a RAID0 array.

Regards
Fernando

Hi
When you say "using a branded BIOS stuck at that version" does it mean Lenovo have some sort of protection against flashing a modded BIOS?
If not, this BIOS is easily modded, if you want to try newer RAID OROM.

EDIT: Also there was a new BIOS released yesterday for the M92p.

Hi - thanks for the suggestions. It definitely needs to be RAID1 in my case. This is a business PC which I can’t quickly get to for repairs. My understanding is that RAID1 can improve read performance, but only if it is implemented well. I could live with single drive performance but this is too much of a slowdown.