Trying to boot from an m.2 drive through a PCIE adapter on an intel DX58SO

I’m sure there are walkthroughs specifically for this but i am a noob and wanted to ask first especially since everything i have read here pertains to windows, and not the OS i am using FreeNAS which is unix based. I have an intel DS58XO mobo that i had my OS(FreeNAS) and three data drives attached to, i needed to expand my server to hold 6 data drives, and still have a separate disk for the OS which is hard because the Mobo only has 6 sata ports. Through some searching i found a pcie to m.2 adapter (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FU9JS94/ref…i_oWWgFb7NJFJE9) i installed it and the board is able to read the m.2 as i was able to write to OS to the drive succesfully, but my bios doesn’t recognize it as a bootable drive. i was referred to here through another website saying there might be something i can do here with my legacy board. sorry if this is repost, i’ll gladly delete it. Any info is appreciated!

@svenEsven :
Welcome to the Win-RAID Forum!
Since your X58 chipset mainboard doesn’t have an UEFI BIOS, you will not be able to boot off a PCIe connected M.2 SSD (only known exception: Samsung’s 950 Pro SSD).
Nevertheless you will be able install the OS onto the M.2 SSD, but the boot sector has to be outside of it.
For details please have a look into >this<, >this< and >this< thread.
Good luck!
Dieter (alias Fernando)

Thanks a bunch! i’ll give it a look

do you mean NVMe ?
I don’t have UEFI on my mobos and would like to use a M2 SATA drive + PCI adapter + Windows XP.
is this possible ?

@caliber :
No matter, whether the M.2 SSD supports the AHCI or the NVMe protocol, it needs a specific UEFI module within the BIOS to be bootable.

sorry for my ignorance. I thought the AHCI driver was meant for M2 SATA only

in this pic I can see a NVMe class SSD with AHCI.

https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/6fa71e1…b29f080e48.jpeg

@caliber :