Unable to flash BIOS with SOIC clip and programmer

Hi all,
I have been beating my head against this problem for a month, and I guess I just need to ask for help. I am new to BIOS modding.

Flashrom always says that it can’t find a flash chip. It has never successfully detected it.

My chip is labeled MX25L12873F.
flashrom -p internal lists “MX25L12845E” and “MX25L12835F/MX25L12845E/MX25L12865E.” It says both are ~16MB, and it can’t read either one.

I have tried a CH341A, black board, which I know is not ideal. I have also tried using a Raspberry Pi.

I have tried with the cheap black SOIC clip that came with the CD341A, and then I got a Pomona clip.

I have tried unplugging everything from the motherboard. I have tried powering everything from the programmer, 3.3 or 5. I also tried disconnecting power and ground from my programmer, and powering the motherboard with the PC power supply.

The PC is an Elitedesk 800 G1 Tower.

I feel like I have followed every guide, and tried every troubleshooting step that I could find here.

Any suggestions? Is it just a situation where I really have to desolder it? I was trying to avoid that…

Thank you!

It may be that you haven’t clipped it perfectly, sometimes it takes me a good 10+ times to get a connection. Also, sometimes you must have PSU connected (not forced on, but power switch on PSU in ON mod - ie normal), and sometimes you have to remove PSU cables.

From past experience with this chip - MX25L12873F use 1.31Free/1.40, ASProgrammer 1.4 or 1.41, or CH341A v1.1.1.32
Inside this package is 1.31Free/1.40 - http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fil…695330485827902
ASProgrammer - https://github.com/nofeletru/UsbAsp-flash/releases/
CH341A v1.1.1.32 (Post #12) - [Help] Flashed stock Bios on Aero 15, now it won’t post

Is this system bricked, or can you boot it to windows or DOS?

I have clipped that thing so many times. My nice new Pomona clip is already getting worn out. I think I am getting it right.