Coffee Lake CPU on ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming - BIOS Mod

Hello everyone,

does anybody have experience with Coffee Lake CPUs on ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming?
I’m a beginner in BIOS-Mods etc., maybe I have a lot of stupid questions. :wink:
My actual CPU is a i5 6600k and I think about upgrading to Coffee Lake.

My actual BIOS Version Infos:
Version 0803 (Build Date 09/24/2015, very old, I know)
ME Version 11.0.0.1168

What I think I figured out since yesterday and what I did so far:

I have to hardware-mod a Coffee-Lake CPU, 2 PINs have to be connected and 2 PINs have to be covered up.

Coffee Lake CPUs with R0 Stepping don’t support 4K UHD BD playback with Intel ME < 12.x.x.x.
Intel ME on this Z170 board has to be < 11.7.0.3xxx to work with Coffee Lake CPUs.
So I have to go with CFL P0 Stepping CPUs like i5 or i7 8xxx if I want to have 4K UHD BD playback, am I right?
Or does the missing support for 4K UHD BD playback only affect the integrated iGPU and not the Graphics Card GPU?
If this only affects the integrated iGPU I can go with R0-Stepping CFL CPUs like i5/i7/i9 9xxx.

The latest BIOS 3805 includes Intel ME 11.8.50.3470 (Coffeetime shows Bad)
The BIOS before 3610 includes Intel ME 11.6.10.1196 (Coffeetime shows OK)
Should I now in first place flash to stock 3610, so BIOS is up to date with
the last stock BIOS Version with ME < 11.8.x.x for any reason?
Or should I directly flash to a modded 3805 BIOS with ME 11.7.0.1229?

I created a modded 3805 BIOS with Coffeetime 0.85a. I used the Autoupdate feature, all works fine.
(Manual modding in coffeetime also functions, but why not use the Autoupdate feature.)
Should I run the “Unlock regions” function also? And do i have to setup a Mac-address?

I think I don’t want flash to stock BIOS 3805 at first, because then the ME will be updated to 11.8.50.3470.
And this isn’t a good idea because it’s complicated to downgrade ME Version without flash programmer
if I understand that right.