[Help] Add Coffee Lake Refresh Microcode to Coffee Lake Bios

Hey guys, im a total bios noob but maybe you can give me directions where to look/start.

Dell just refreshed their Optiplex models with the latest 9th generation Intel CPU while retaining the exact same hardware as the previous 8th generation far as i know. For marketing reasons the 8th generation (Coffee Lake) models did not receive a BIOS update to allow the use of the Coffee Lake refresh CPUs. Would it be possible to transplant the microcode part of the new bios into the older ones?

Dell uses some packed up .exe for their BIOS files, as i’m a Linux user i’m unsure how to unpack :confused:

https://dl.dell.com/FOLDER05668194M/1/Op…_3060_1.4.2.exe (Coffee Lake)
https://dl.dell.com/FOLDER05936083M/1/Op…_3070_1.2.1.exe (Coffee Lake Refresh)

Thanks for any info!

Please can you upload bios with legacy support for this models 3060 optiplex and 3070 optiplex I have only uefi support for this models

@stfn - 3070 BIOS Link above = 404

Use info below for each model, you’ll possibly have to use DOS or setup windows on a temp disk, not all FPT versions have a linux tool folder

If you have already modified the BIOS in ANY way, you will need to re-flash it back to factory defaults using factory method (NOT FPT)!!!

If you do not have Intel ME drivers installed, install them now from your system driver download page, then start over here after reboot.
Check your BIOS’ main page and see if ME FW version is shown. If not then > DOWNLOAD HWINFO64 HERE <

Once HWINFO is open, look at the large window on the left side, expand motherboard, and find the ME area.
Inside that section is the ME Firmware version. Take note of the version. (ie. write it down or get a screenshot)

Once you have that, go to the thread linked below, and in the section “C.2” find and download the matching ME System Tools Package for your system.