[HELP] ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming HPET mod + Microcode update

Hello. This is my first time I mod any UEFI.

1. I would like to ask for some confirmation of what I had already done is right. I used the latest UBU v1.79.16.1 with patched MMTool v5.2.0.24 for patching the latest Z170-PRO-GAMING-ASUS-3805.CAP UEFI. Here is the updating process: youtube.com/watch?v=8ROLDEyxFbI

2. Unfortunately, after extracting IFR it seems like HPET is already disabled (but on Windows seems to be enabled). I guess that I missed something…

Screenshot 2021-04-27 184156.jpg

3. If I modify body.bin should I somehow integrate this file with the rest of UEFI or UBU is doing it automatically?

4. Another issue is that I don’t know exactly how to flash custom UEFI. I found that my motherboard has a feature called CrashFree BIOS 3, which seems similar to USB Flashback, but the file format and name scheme seem to be the same. Any clues if this will save me from potential bricking?

Thanks in advance.

Hi friend,
I am not expert of UBU, but it is used to make these modifies :

a) Update/downgrade of Intel RST/RSTe RAID ROM/EFI BIOS modules
b) Replacement of the Intel EFI GopDriver by a certain version
c) Update of the Intel iGPU VGA ROM (vBIOS)
d) Update of the CPU Microcodes

Here are some examples:

a) Update of the “Storage Controller” BIOS modules (here: Intel RAID ROM/EFI RaidDriver:
b) Update of the “Video on-board” BIOS modules (here: Intel Haswell/Broadwell EFI GopDriver)
c) Update of the “Network Adapter” BIOS modules (here: Intel and Realtek LAN ROM/EFI UNDI)
d) Update of “Other SATA Controller” BIOS modules (here: ASMedia 106x Option ROM)
e) Update of the “CPU MicroCode” modules (here: for Intel CPUs)
f) Only for experts: Running the “AMI Setup IFR Extractor” tool

All the purposes are above, the IFR extraction is to aid who modify bios and get all NVRAM informations from Setup Module, so
Bios lock too :wink: