Nvidia bios modding checksum

Hi! I’m trying to do bios editing for my 3060 ti. I successfully changed the power max power limit in the bios. However, I don’t know how to fix the checksum. Does anyone here knows how to do this? Thank’s in advance!

1 Like

checksum not helps ,.still need bypass certificate “cert2 error”
hwprogramer for modded vbios > skypro +1.8V adapter

or ID and try find compatible vbios on techpowerup :grinning:

Ch31 programer works just fine. I flashed a vbios with it in my rtx 3060ti zotac after a bad update and works fine. How did you modified the vbios? Could you publish the steps and sources? and want to do it thanks!

Hey there! I never succeded to do it but here’s how planned to do it.

Disclaimer: There are risks to consider when flashing and modifying your bios and I am not an expert in this domain. Any damage to your hardware is not my fault.

1. Get a bios (from gpu-z or something like that)

2. Get a hex editor (in my case I use HxD)

3. Now for editing, the bios is written in little endian (meaning a value of AB CD would become CD AB), thus I highly recommend using a dec to hex converter like this one: Binary to Hex Converter. if you scroll down, it shows the value in little-endian.

4. Now in the editor, search for the power limit value of your bios converted to little-endian. Make sure you are searching for hexadecimal.

To make sure you are editing the right value, you can search for the minimum and target tdp of your bios, as both can be easily obtained. If they are close to the max power limit value, then it should be the right one.

Replace it with the power value you want to be, again in little-endian.

Now, it might now work for every bios, as some are encoded differently.

1. You need to fix the checksum of the bios. However, I don’t know much about md5/sha256 checksums, so I don’t know how to do it.

-------------- The two following steps might not be necessary, they are only theorical for now -----------