REQUEST - ROG MAXIMUS X HERO BIOS Mod to Allow 128GB RAM

Hello,

I need help with BIOS mod for Asus ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (non-WiFI model) please. Recently I saw Intel i7-8086k Processor supports up to 128GB RAM now (https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/…o-5-00-ghz.html). Currently, I’m running a system with ROG Maximus X Hero with i7-8086k & 64GB RAM and would really like to use 128GB. I couldn’t find any BIOS update on Asus website mention about 128GB RAM support.

Can anyone please tell me if this latest BIOS from their website has support for 128GB RAM? https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LG…O-ASUS-2203.zip

If not, would someone experienced please help me to mod one? I would be so grateful. I read here it is possible but I’m a noob when it comes to BIOS mod (Make 22nm PCH LGA1151 motherboard like Z370 compatible with 128GB RAM).

Thanks very much.

@k6808_8086k - I looked, but I am not 100% sure, since that guide/info does not show images, so I’m not exactly sure I am looking at same thing, due to his use of … instead of showing example in images.

This is what I found at one of (13) the 15x instances in ONE of the modules with that GUID in your BIOS
C7 86 7F 25 00 00 00 80 00 00 8B C2

However, this does not follow exactly what he mentioned ( “C786…000000…00”,"…" is any HEX value.), so may not be correct place/code etc.
I say that, because in his example, the last … is not followed by 00 in your BIOS. But, that is the only instance where I find the C7 86, follow by 8000 (or 0001 if it was there, which it’s not)

Thank you very much for looking into it promptly @Lost_N_BIOS . From your post it looks like they didn’t enable support for 128GB yet!

@dsanke would you please be able to help me on this? I’m really looking forward to get this working without getting a Z390 motherboard.

You need a SPI programmer to flash modified BIOS, because I need modify the Flash Desriptor, to set ME to disabled, which usually is not able to flash without a SPI programmer.