Successfully unlocked N8xEJEK (Coffeelake Clevo Notebook)

A few weeks ago I decided to buy a new laptop as my old T400 Thinkpad was not fun to use anymore.

I decided to buy a Clevo laptop but was shocked about the locked Bios. I was nether able to activate XMP (in order to use my 2666 Mhz Ram) nor undervolt the cpu. I know that both can be accomplished using Intel XTU tool but as I’m a linux user my options are very limited. Undervolting is possible using iuvolt but I was not able to activate XMP. Although XMP can be activated with Intel XTU it stays activated even in linux but as soon as you are loading Bios defaults it gets overridden.

So I started searching for Bios mods and there is a specific Clevo Bios mod called “Prema”. But it’s only available when buying the laptop from specific reseller (and mine was none of them).

So after a few days I started reading about Bios modding. I’m a software developer myself but never did something like this. After a few days reading tutorials and threads in this forum I successfully unlocked multiple menus, removed the Bios lock, and flashed the modified file.

So why am I writing this? I guess I’m one of those leechers just reading in forums trying to gather all necessary information and help myself. But it would not have been possible without this exceptional forum with so much unique information! So I just wanted to thank you all! Especially posts from Fernando, lordkag, CodeRush, SoniX and Lost_N_Bios were extremely helpful!

I’ve attached my modded Bios just in case anyone with a Clevo N8xx EJ / EK laptop has the same issue. You may need to remove the Bios lock. I’ve flashed it with fpt from within an EFI shell (Fpt.efi -f bios.bin -BIOS).

N8xEJEK.zip (3.99 MB)

Thanks @Tobi - That’s what BIOS modding is (Should be) all about, learning methods, sharing how-to’s, sharing successful edits, and then trying to learn some more. Thanks for sharing your mod BIOS for others to enjoy!