BIOS Mod Requested for HP Z420 with LGA 2011 Socket, Intel C602 Chipset and HP Motherboard

I have HP Z420 Workstation which came with traditional BIOS but it has some UEFI capability too (I think as I saw in BIOS). I want to install Samsung PM981 Nvme SSD as boot device. It has an empty PCI-e x16 (ver 3.0) slot and I have the adapter. Can you please help me with BIOS mod so that I can install it with full Nvme support for booting. Here is the link to BIOS exe file download on HP site:

https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/sel…station/5225033

The older BIOS settings can be seen in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOsaR8S35mg&t=264s

I am a newbie and will help if you please give clean instructions as what needs to be done later.

Many thanks in advance

It’s easy to mod but flash
You must to flash it by a hardware programmer

Thanks for your post. I need some clarification.

It is my understanding that the current version of HP BIOS is an exe file which can
be simply installed by double clicking it. If the modified BIOS needs some other method
then can you please point me to a guide for it. I may be able to do it.

Hoping for your answer.

I’ve tried many ways to solve it but only using programmer.
Although I did the trick once through the “fpt”,but,you see, only once~~~~It’s not worth

@gloobox - what stops FPT from writing BIOS region here, something other than BIOS lock? BIOS lock we can get around, and FPRR (protected range register) I know how to get around too (but need programmed in without that lock first, unless PRR/PRR2 works for this system)
If this system has "Sure Start" then nothing will help anyway, BIOS will be auto recovered to stock BIOS if you modify anything inside certain regions of the BIOS (mainly the one needed to be modified here)

bios lock and smi lock
prr
prr2
the three things I’ve tried but it still failed
I tried it in several borads of HP,but no board was OK
So I think the only way to flash it is by programmer